Friendsgiving

Being at the ripe, old age of 26, I’ve never hosted a Thanksgiving on my own. I never had any reason to: I’m not married and I always do family things on the day of.

Enter: Friendsgiving. This is not some monumental concept (pretty sure it’s been around forever) but it’s something new for me. I’m having a few friends over this weekend and will be playing hostess to a mini-Thanksgiving meal to preface the actual holiday later next week.

I’m not really sure what prompted me to want to take this on. I was talking to my boyfriend, while simultaneously browsing Pinterest… isn’t that how all potentially overwhelming situations start?

The conversation probably went something like this:

Boyfriend: So then, I was walking to the law school and-

Me: OMG, LOOK AT THIS THING ON PINTEREST I FOUND.

Boyfriend: [silence]

Me: It looks so good!! We have to make it.

Boyfriend: You should have a Friendsgiving!

And then it was so…

Anyway, I’m pretty excited to host a little dinner. We’re not going full-out turkey route. I found what looks to be a pretty awesome recipe for a turkey/cranberry/squash puff pasty thing and I think it’s gonna taste fantastic. Or so I hope. Boyfriend’s handling the mashed potatoes and the stuffing. He swears by a family recipe for his stuffing and I think he’s pretty excited to make it. Other friends are bringing some other sides, bread, pie and boxed wine. We’re classy like that.

I plan to go grocery shopping tonight to get the ingredients for my portion of the dinner. More than likely, my boyfriend and I will be hitting up our local grocer after midnight to shop because we’re seeing HUNGER GAMES around 10!

To switch gears entirely, I’m super jazzed about seeing the new Hunger Games movie. What is this one called… Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1? I remember when I read the books for the first time. My dad kept trying to convince me to give them a shot, but in my mind, they looked like “boy books.” You know, a cover in some muted shade of red, black or gray. Scary, imposing font choices for the title.

But I eventually got whittled down and picked up the first installment while we were on vacation in Maine. Holy crap, I loved them. I burned through the whole series, even going so far as to buy a copy from some random used bookstore while we were driving around to Boston. I couldn’t stop. I needed to know what happened.

So now the movie’s tonight and I admittedly can’t remember every detail from this book. Hoping that once I start watching, it all comes back to me. It’s been a few years since I’ve read the novels and I had intentions of re-reading in preparation for the movie but got sidetracked from all the other books I’ve been buried in.

I hope everyone’s weekend is wonderful – and may the odds be ever in your favor!

Leave a Reply

